Van Riper | Nies Attorneys                         561-962-3130
Palm Beach DUI Defense
   
                        

DUI Laws

Experienced attorneys...
Aggressive representation.

Van Riper Nies Law relies on hard work, open communication and an aggressive defense to bring justice to our clients.

Our  attorneys, Christian Van Riper and Tim Nies are experienced trial attorneys. Christian is a former Prosecutor for the State of Florida. In his capacity as a Prosecutor, he prosecuted and tried many Driving Under the Influence (DUI) cases. From his years experience as a Prosecutor, Christian has a unique and valuable insight into how prosecutors evaluate and litigate DUI cases. Our attorney, Tim Nies,  is a U.S. Army Veteran, having served as an Airborne Ranger with the 75th Ranger Regiment, a special forces group, and a former insurance defense senior casualty trial attorney where he litigated complex injury cases. Our attorneys' unique experiences sets us apart from other DUI attorneys.

Below is a summary of Florida Law relating to DUI.  For more information, call us for a free consultation at 561-962-3130, email us at christian@vanriperandnies.com or complete our online confidential contact form below.

 

DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances). Florida Statutes Section. 316.193:

Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.


Fine Schedule Florida Statutes Section. 316.193(2)(a)-(b)

  • First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
  • Second Conviction: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.
  • Third Conviction More than 10 years from second: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2,000.

Community Service - Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (6)(a):

First Conviction: Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.

Probation -  Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (5)(6)

First conviction, total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year.

Imprisonment- Florida Statutes Section  316.193 (2)(a) 2, 4(b), (6)(j)

At court's discretion, sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, credited toward term of imprisonment.

  • First Conviction: Not more than 6 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 9 months.
  • Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 12 months. If second conviction within 5 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.
  • Third Conviction: If third conviction within 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive. If third conviction more than 10 years, imprisonment for not more than 12 months.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years or as provided in s.775.084, Florida Statutes, as habitual/violent offender.

Impoundment of Immobilization of Vehicle - Florida Statutes Section  316.193 (6)

Unless the family of the defendant has no other transportation: First conviction = 10 days; second conviction within 5 years = 30 days; third conviction within 10 years = 90 days. Impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with incarceration. The court may dismiss the order of impoundment of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant if they are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

Conditions for Release of Persons Arrested for DUI-Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (9)

  • The person is no longer under the influence and;
  • The person's normal faculties are no longer impaired
  • The person's blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or
  • Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

DUI Misdemeanor Conviction: (Accident Involving Property Damage or Personal Injury)-Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (3)

Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1-year imprisonment).

DUI Felony Conviction: (Repeat Offenders or Accidents Involving Serious Bodily Injury)-Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (2),(3)

  • Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
  • Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in s. 775.084, F.S.

Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide- Florida Statutes Section 316.193 (3)

  • DUI/Manslaughter: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
  • DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who knew/should have known accident occurred; and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).
  • Vehicular Homicide: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
  • Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a First Degree Felony (nor more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

Driver License Revocation Periods for DUI-Florida Statutes Section 322.271 and Section 322.28

A. First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.

B. Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as "A" above.

C. Third Conviction Within 10 Years of the second conviction: minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligable for a hardship reinstatement after two years.

D. Fourth Conviction, Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.

E. DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.

F. Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3-year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as "B-D" above.

Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV) - Alcohol-Related Convictions/Disqualifications-Florida Statutes Section  322.61

  • Persons convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or above: driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or refusing to submit to a test to determine the alcohol concentration while driving a commercial motor vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, or driving a commercial motor vehicle while in possession of a controlled substance shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year. This is in addition to any provisions of s. 316.193 for DUI convictions.
  • Second or subsequent conviction of any of the above offenses arising out of separate incidents will result in a permanent disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.
  • There are no provisions for persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle to obtain a hardship (business or employment) license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

Business Purposes Only/Employment Purposes Only Reinstatements - Florida Statutes Section 322.271 and Section 322.28

  • First Conviction: Must complete DUI school, apply to department for hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for up to six months for BAL of .15.
  • Second Convictions (or more): No hardship license except as provided below. Mandatory ignition interlock device for one year, or for two years if BAL is greater than .20.
  • Second Conviction Within 5 Years: (5-Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after one year. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for one year or for two years if BAL is greater than .15.
  • Third Conviction Within 10 Years: (10-Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after two years. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in the cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement.  Mandatory ignition interlock device for two years.
  • DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years have expired from date of revocation or expired from date of term of incarceration provided the following requirements have been met:

1. Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;

2. Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;

3. Has been alcohol and drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and

4. Must complete a DUI school and must be supervised under the DUI program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license).

5. Ignition interlock device required for two years.

  • Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: (3 Year Revocation): May immediately apply for hardship reinstatement hearing. Must complete DUI school or advanced driver improvement course.

DUI School Requirements - Florida Statutes Sections 316.193, 322.271, and 322.291

  • First Conviction: Must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement. Customers who wait out revocation period before reinstatement need only show proof of enrollment or completion to become re-licensed. If customer enrolls and is reinstated after revocation period expires, failure to complete the DUI school within 90 days after reinstatement will result in license cancellation; the driver cannot then be re-licensed until DUI school is completed.
  • Second Conviction in 5 Years (5-Year Revocation) or Third Conviction in 10 Years (10-Year Revocation): Customer must complete DUI school following conviction. See requirements in 13C and 13D respectively.
  • DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): Must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement.
  • Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide: (Minimum 3 year Revocation): See 13F
  • Customers Who Wait Until Revocation Period Expires: Must enroll in DUI school and pass the driver license examinations to be re-licensed. Failure to complete the school within 90 days after such reinstatement will result in cancellation of the license until the school is completed.
  • Reckless Driving: If the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical or controlled substances contributed to a violation of reckless driving, the person convicted of reckless driving must complete DUI school if ordered by the court.
  • Treatment: Treatment resulting from a psychosocial evaluation may not be waived without a supporting psychosocial evaluation by a court appointed agency with access to the original evaluation.

Chemical or Physical Test Provisions (Implied Consent Law)-Florida Statutes Sections 316.1932,  316.1933,  316.1934,  316.1939:

  • Refusal: Refusal to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is admissible as evidence in DUI criminal proceedings. Second or subsequent refusal is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
  • Driver License Suspension Periods: First refusal, suspended for 1 year. Second or subsequent refusals, suspended for 18 months.
  • Commercial Driver License Disqualification Periods: First refusal in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified for 1 year. Second or subsequent refusals in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified permanently. No hardship reinstatement permitted.
  • Forceful Withdrawal of Blood: If necessary, blood may be withdrawn in DUI cases involving serious bodily injury or death by authorized medical personnel with the use of reasonable force by the arresting officer, even if the driver refuses.
  • Unconscious: Any person who is incapable of refusal by reason of unconsciousness or other mental or physical condition shall be deemed not to have withdrawn his consent to such test. A blood test may be administered whether or not such person is told that his failure to submit to such a blood test will result in the suspension of his privilege to operate a motor vehicle.
  • Portable Alcohol Breath Testing Devices: Authorized by Florida Statutes Section 322.2616, for persons under the age of 21. Reading is admissible as evidence in any administrative hearing conducted under Florida Statutes Section  322.2616.

Adjudication and Sentencing - Florida Statutes Section  316.656 and 322.2615

Penalty to be Imposed by Court: Judges are prohibited from deviating from the administrative suspension/revocation periods mandated by statute. The courts are prohibited from withholding adjudication in DUI cases; or from reducing a DUI charge if the defendant's blood alcohol was .15 or greater.

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked- Florida Statutes Section  322.34

Any person whose driver license/privilege is suspended for Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Level, or revoked for DUI, DUI Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide, or for any other offense ordered by the court and who causes death or serious bodily injury to another person by operating a motor vehicle in a careless or negligent manner is guilty of a 3rd degree felony, punishable by both imprisonment of not more than 5 years, a fine not to exceed $5,000, or both.

Administrative Suspension of Persons Under the Age of 21 for Driving With an Alcohol Level .02 or Above

Section 322.2616, Florida Statutes, authorizes law enforcement officers having probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has any alcohol level may lawfully detain this person and may request them to submit to a test to determine the alcohol level. This violation is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained under this statute constitute an arrest.

  • First Suspension for Persons Under the Age of 21 With An Alcohol Level .02 or above: 6 months.
  • Second or Subsequent Suspensions 1 year.
  • First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath Test: 1 year.
  • Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months.
  • The suspension is effective immediately. If the breath or blood alcohol level is .05 or higher the suspension shall remain in effect until completion of a substance abuse evaluation and course. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit effective 12 hours after issuance which is valid for 10 days, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

Administrative Suspension Law - Florida Statutes Sections 322.2615, 316.193, and 316.1932

  • First Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 6 months.
  • Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 1 year.
  • First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine or Blood Test: 1 year.
  • Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months.
  • The suspension is effective immediately The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit valid for 10 days from the date of arrest, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

Administrative Disqualification Law

  • First Disqualification for Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Unlawful Blood Alcohol Level (.04 or above): 1 year disqualification
  • driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance: 1 year disqualification
  • First Disqualification for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine or Blood Test Arising from the Operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle: 1-year disqualification
  • Second or Subsequent Disqualification for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine, or Blood Test Arising from the Operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle: permanently disqualified.
  • Second or Subsequent Disqualification of driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance: Permanently disqualification
  • The disqualification is effective immediately upon refusal of the breath, urine or blood test or determination that the driver has a blood alcohol level of .08 or above, while operating or in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit which is valid for 10 days from the date of arrest or disqualification, provided the driver is otherwise eligible. However, the permit does not authorize the operation of a commercial motor vehicle for the first 24 hours of disqualification.

Review Hearings For Administrative Suspensions And Disqualifications

Florida Statutes Sections 322.2615 and 322.64 authorize the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles upon the request of the driver to conduct formal and informal reviews for the purpose of sustaining, amending or invalidating administrative suspensions and disqualifications. The decisions of the department shall not be considered in any trial for a violation of Section 316.193, nor shall any written statement submitted by a person in his request for review be admissible into evidence against him in any such trial. The disposition of any related criminal proceedings shall not affect a suspension/disqualification.

Business or Employment Reinstatement:

1.Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level of .08 or above or Refusal: Must show proof of enrollment in DUI school and apply for an administrative hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. For unlawful alcohol level must serve 30 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. For first refusal must serve 90 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. No hardship reinstatement for two or more refusals.

2. Suspension - Persons Under Age of 21 Driving With a Breath Alcohol Level of .02 or above: Must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course before hardship reinstatement.  .05 or higher, must complete DUI program prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. Must serve 30 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement.

Hardship License Prohibited:

1. Florida law prohibits any hardship reinstatement upon 2nd or subsequent suspension for test refusal or if driver has been convicted of (DUI) section 316.193, F.S., two or more times.

2. Persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle cannot obtain a hardship license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.
_______________________________________________________________________________

Our attorneys will proactively and tenaciously defend you in court. That is our job. That is why our clients hire us.  We simply do not plead guilty for you to obtain a fee – we work hard for your freedom and are ready and willing to take your case to a jury.

In addition to DUI defense, our attorneys represents people accused of BUI (Boating Under the Influence), DUI manslaughter, vehicular homicide, leaving the scene of an accident, driving while license suspended, driving without a license, and felony DUI based on multiple DUI convictions.

For a free consultation and for more information about our DUI Defense practice, please call 561-962-3130, complete the form below or email us at christian@vanriperandnies.com.

Contact our DUI Defense Attorneys

Please complete the confidential form below and one of our attorneys will contact you shortly.

Security Code: *  
Your Name:
Your Address:
Cellular Phone:
Home Phone:
Email:
Describe What
Happened Here:

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and expeirence. The information at this site or the submission of any form or email should not be consttrued to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.

Palm Beach FL criminal defense law firm represents defendants arrested for a DUI under Florida Law. Our criminal defense attorney Christian Van Riper, is a former prosecutor for the State of Florida. He now represents clients in Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges. Our criminal law attorneys litigate D.U.I. cases throughout Palm Beach County Florida, including West Palm Beach, Delray Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Boynton Beach, Jupiter, North Palm Beach, Boca Raton, and Wellington, FL. Our criminal justice defenders represent Florida clients arrested for felony DUI and repeat DUI crimes. Jupiter FL DUI defense law.   Palm Beach Gardens - Criminal Defense and DUI Defense Lawyers. DUI law firm represents residents of Wellington, FL.

Our criminal defense lawyers in West Palm Beach, FL are  available for free consultations
. Florida
boating under the influence BUI lawyers in Stuart, FL. DUI Defense Attorneys in Palm Beach Gardens, FL.  Belle Glade and Clewiston FL criminal defense and DUI defense lawyers. Top. DUI attorneys in West Palm Beach, FL. Sentence for second DUI in Florida. Drunk driving laws in Palm Beach County.  DUI law firms in FL.


DUI defense law firms in Riviera Beach, FL. Our criminal DUI attorneys represent clients arrested for DUI  in Atlantis, FL. Legal representation for drunk driving in Belle Glade, FL.  D.U.I. defense in Boca Raton, FL. Our Driving under the Influence defense attorneys represent defendants in Briny Breezes, Cloud Lake, Delray Beach, Glen Ridge, Golf, Golfview, and Greenacres, FL who have been arrested for Driving under the Influence of alcohol. Palm Beach County criminal law attorneys represents clients arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in Haverhill, Highland Beach, Hypoluxo, and Juno Beach, FL. Jupiter DUI defense attorneys.  Law fim represents clients in Jupiter Inlet Colony, Lake Clarke Shores, Lake Park, Palm Beach, and Lake Worth, Florida arrested for driving or boating under the influence of alcohol. DUI Defense Law Firm: Lantana, Manalapan, North Palm Beach,  Tequesta, Ocean Ridge, Palm Beach Shores, Royal Palm Beach, South Bay, Palm Beach Gardens,  West Palm Beach, Riviera Beach, and Palm Springs, FL.
 Palm Beach County DUI and DWLS defense law firms. North Palm Beach criminal Defense law. Lake Worth Fla DWI defense. Sentence in Florida for first time DUI? Defense of drunk driving in Florida.

Criminal and D.U.I. defense law firms in Haverhill, FL. North Palm Beach - DUI Defense Lawyers. DUI Defense attorneys in West Palm Beach, FL.  Consultations with our DWI attorneys are free and we will meet with clients in Delray Beach accused of DUI.  Free consultations are available. Credit cards are accepted. Criminal defense attorneys in Lake Worth, FL. Our attorneys accept agreed to payment plans. Greenacres, FL criminal lawyers. Driving Under the Influence defense in Juno Beach, FL. Our trial lawyer, Chris Van Riper, is a former  State Attorney. Criminal defense law firms in Wellington, FL in Palm Beach County. Lantana DUI defense lawyers.  Criminal defense law firms in Juno Beach, FL. Sentence for DUI accident in West Palm Beach, FL. Driving While Intoxicated defense in Florida. Our attorneys help DUI clients in Boynton Beach, Florida. North Palm Beach, FL DUI defense. Drunk driving setences in Florida.  DWI laws in Florida. Litigation of DUI claims in Florida.

North Palm Beach criminal defense lawyers. Hypoluxo DUI defense law firms.  Our attorneys are experienced in defending clients charged with burglary, robbery, domestic violence, grand theft, fraud, or Driving While License Suspended in Palm Beach County, FL.  We represent spouses in Royal Beach Beach, FL who have been charged with felonies in Palm Beach County, FL.   Criminal lawyers in West Palm Beach, Florida experienced in cocaine possession cases. Defense of driving under the influence (DUI) of cocaine. Stuart criminal lawyers.

DUI law firms in West Palm Beach, FL. Personal Injury Lawyers in Stuart, FL. Our criminal attorneys are experienced attorneys who have tried many jury trials in their careers. Our Palm Beach Gardens, FL criminal defense law firm will work with clients on payment plans and other payment options. Driving under the Influence, DUI, and Boating under the Influence, BUI, are a serious charges and  you need an experienced DUI defense lawyer on your side. If you have been arrested by the Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office, Boca Raton Police Department, Delray Beach Police Department of any other law enforcement agency in Florida, call our attorneys today.  Top criminal defense attorneys in Palm Beach, FL.  Our attorneys represent clients in West Palm Beach who have been charged with a crime, including drug crimes, violent crimes such as robbery, and fraud charges. Our Martin County Florida attorneys represent clients in criminal trials. Belle Glade FL criminal defense lawyers.

Criminal defense attorneys in West Palm Beach, FL who defend those accused of drug trafficking. Our Palm Beach County Criminal defense lawyers are experienced in handling all assault and battery cases, domestic violence, felony battery, assault, driving while license suspended, driving while license revoked, public intoxication, shoplifting, theft, grand theft, grant theft auto, stolen car charges, underage drinking, criminal immigration and defense of felonies and misdemeanors. Criminal defense attorneys in Palm Beach, FL. 
St. Lucie County DUI Lawyers

Palm Beach County criminal Defense Attorneys. For professional legal representation in criminal law matters contact Chris Van Riper today. Attorney Van Riper represents clients in North Palm Beach.  Jupiter FL criminal defense lawyers.  Criminal Defense Attorney Van Riper is available for free consultations in White City, River Park, Eden, Hutchinson Island, Lakewood Park, and all cities in St. Lucie County.Stuart FL criminal defense law.  Our attorney is available for consultations in Vero Beach, Gifford, Sebastian, Fellsmere, Wabasso and all other locations in the area. For a free consultation regarding your felony or misdemeanor charge, call Stuart attorney Christian Van Riper today. DUI attorneys in Stuart, FL. 
What to do if arrested for a DUI. Criminal trial lawyers in West Palm Beach, FL. Personal injury attorneys: trucking negligence law.

Our attorneys represent clients charged with violent crimes, DUIs, BUIs, domestic violence, drug crimes, possession of drugs such as cocaine, shoplifting, theft, credit card fraud, medicare fraud, battery and all other crimes. The criminal defense attorneys also represent juveniles charged with serious crimes and students in administrative hearings. Criminal defense attorneys in Stuart, FL.
Florida BUI lawyers.  Criminal defense litigation in Belle Glade, FL  DUI lawyers in West Palm Beach, FL.  DUI lawyers in Boca Raton, Florida. South Bay DUI Defense lawyers. Florida criminal defense.

DUI attorneys in Palm Beach County, FL are experienced in defending those charged with DUIs throughout Martin County, FL.  Monthly payment plans for criminal defense in Martin County, FL. Florida attorneys experienced with defending clients charged with DWI. Van Riper and Nies Criminal Lawyers: http://www.vanriperandnies.com.  DUI defense attorneys in West Palm Beach, FL.  Our attorneys represent Palm Beach Gardens residents accused of DUIs. Our Palm Beach County criminal lawyers represent clients arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Boynton Beach, Florida. DUI defense law in Jupiter, FL.  Criminal defense lawyers in Jupiter, FL experienced with fraud cases.  Lantana,  FL criminal defense law firms.  Defense Base Act Lawyers in Florida. DUI attorneys in Stuart, FL.  Boating under the Influence (BUI) lawyers in Florida represent boat operators accused of drinking while driving. West Palm Beach DWI defense lawyers. Free consultations. 

DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances). s. 316.193, F.S.

Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.

Fine Schedule s. 316.193(2)(a)-(b), F.S.

  • First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
  • Second Conviction: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.
  • Third Conviction More than 10 years from second: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2,000.

Community Service - s. 316.193 (6)(a), F.S.

First Conviction: Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.

Probation - s. 316.193 (5)(6), F.S.

First conviction, total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year.

Imprisonment- s. 316.193 (2)(a) 2, 4(b), (6)(j), F.S.

At court's discretion, sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, credited toward term of imprisonment.

  • First Conviction: Not more than 6 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 9 months.
  • Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 12 months. If second conviction within 5 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.
  • Third Conviction: If third conviction within 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive. If third conviction more than 10 years, imprisonment for not more than 12 months.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years or as provided in s.775.084, Florida Statutes, as habitual/violent offender.

Impoundment of Immobilization of Vehicle - s. 316.193 (6), F.S.

Unless the family of the defendant has no other transportation: First conviction = 10 days; second conviction within 5 years = 30 days; third conviction within 10 years = 90 days. Impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with incarceration. The court may dismiss the order of impoundment of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant if they are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

Conditions for Release of Persons Arrested for DUI-s. 316.193 (9), F.S.

  • The person is no longer under the influence and;
  • The person's normal faculties are no longer impaired
  • The person's blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or
  • Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

DUI Misdemeanor Conviction: (Accident Involving Property Damage or Personal Injury)-s. 316.193 (3), F.S.

Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1-year imprisonment).

DUI Felony Conviction: (Repeat Offenders or Accidents Involving Serious Bodily Injury)-s. 316.193 (2),(3) F.S.

  • Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
  • Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in s. 775.084, F.S.

Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide-s. 316.193 (3), F.S.

  • DUI/Manslaughter: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
  • DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who knew/should have known accident occurred; and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).
  • Vehicular Homicide: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
  • Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a First Degree Felony (nor more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

Driver License Revocation Periods for DUI-s. 322.271, F.S. and s. 322.28,F.S.

A. First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.

B. Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as "A" above.

C. Third Conviction Within 10 Years of the second conviction: minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligable for a hardship reinstatement after two years.

D. Fourth Conviction, Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.

E. DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.

F. Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3-year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as "B-D" above.

 

Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV) - Alcohol-Related Convictions/Disqualifications-s. 322.61, F.S.

  • Persons convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or above: driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or refusing to submit to a test to determine the alcohol concentration while driving a commercial motor vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, or driving a commercial motor vehicle while in possession of a controlled substance shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year. This is in addition to any provisions of s. 316.193 for DUI convictions.
  • Second or subsequent conviction of any of the above offenses arising out of separate incidents will result in a permanent disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.

There are no provisions for persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle to obtain a hardship (business or employment) license to operate a commercial motor vehicle

Website Builder